Sailing

Recently, I’ve learned how to sail and I was wondering how does sailing affects my health? While you are sailing, you gain muscle endurance since you are constantly hosting the sails up to control the boat. Sailing also improves your cardiovascular system because of the physical activities used to move the boat. For me, when I am out on the ocean, the sun is shining, and the wind is hitting my face and blowing my hair in all directions, puts me in a peaceful mood. The saltiness in the ocean is filled with ions, and these ions help the body’s oxygen and balances out the serotonin, a body chemical. The more balanced the body’s serotonin is, the better mood you will be in. Being out on the water makes me feel very relaxed and makes me forget about the stress in life. The sound the wind against the sails affects the patterns in the brain, and relaxes the mind. Below is the source I used: http://www.healthfitnessrevolution.com/health-benefits-sailing/

4 thoughts on “Sailing

  1. mperkins18 says:

    I really like how you explain the scientific part of how the ocean puts people in a better mood. It’s really interesting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

